I learned something the other day…

I’m constantly on the hunt for good ways to cook side dishes because I’m pretty much at a loss for what to do with them.  There’s only so many ways you can cook a potato.  Plus, the boyfriend hates pretty much all side dishes except a vague description of “potatoes… but not mashed…”  He still at least tries pretty much anything I cook, but there’s really not many other options available (eat or starve).

I’m a huge fan of broccoli and he (of course) hates it.  So, when I saw this pin, I really hoped for the best. Recipe here.

Image

I had attempted something like this before with a description from a co-worker without any real measurements.  Things did not go well.

I was pleased with the final results this time around, but the boyfriend said it was too salty.  I tend to agree, but it’s probably because I used regular iodized salt instead of kosher salt.  Otherwise, delicious and I highly recommend this dish.

So what did I learn?  I learned the all-important difference between table salt and kosher salt.  Plus, I learned what lemon zest is and how to obtain it (derp).

Leave a Reply

